Little Treasure Logo
Join our Communityy facebook
learning at little treasures

Learning and Development

At Little Treasures Day Nursery and Pre-School it is our aim to ensure we provide your child with the best foundations possible, not only for starting school but for the rest of their lives.

We closely follow the guidelines provided in the "Early Years Foundation Scheme" with an emphasis on play. We believe that children learn best when activities are fun and enjoyable.


The Six Areas of Learning and Development

All of the following areas are connected to each other and are as equally important in a childs early learning and development.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Dispositions and Attitudes
  • Self-confidence and self-esteem
  • Making Relationships
  • Behaviour and Self-control
  • Self-care
  • Sense of Community

Communication, Language and Literacy

  • Language for Communication
  • Language for Thinking
  • Linking Sounds and Letters
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Handwriting

Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy

  • Numbers as Labels and for Counting
  • Calculating
  • Shape, Space and Measures

Knowledge and Understanding of the World

  • Exploration and Investigation
  • Designing and Making
  • ICT
  • Time
  • Place
  • Communities

Physical Development

  • Movement and Space
  • Health and Bodily Awareness
  • Using Equipment and Materials

Creative Development

  • Being Creative – Responding to Experiences, Expressing and Communicating Ideas
  • Exploring Media and Materials
  • Creating Music and Dance
  • Developing Imagination and Imaginative Play
messy play


Did you know?

Experts believe that "Messy Play" is an important aspect to the learning and development of babies and toddlers.

Messy play stimulates the senses and allows little ones to experience a wide variety of textures, smells, colours and sounds whilst developing hand to eye coordination and fine motor skills.

Who said learning isn't fun?




The Four Themes

There are four principles or "themes" that compliment the six areas of learning and development. These themes underpin the practice of effective care, learning and development of young children and each is supported by four commitments that describe how the principles can be put into practice.

A Unique Child. Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

  1. Child Development
  2. Inclusive Practice
  3. Keeping Safe
  4. Health and Well-being

Positive Relationships. Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

  1. Respecting Each Other
  2. Parents as Partners
  3. Supporting Learning
  4. Key Person

Enabling Environments. The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children's development and learning.

  1. Observation, Assessment and Planning
  2. Supporting Every Child
  3. The Learning Environment
  4. The Wider Context

Learning and Development. Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

  1. Play and Exploration
  2. Active Learning
  3. Creativity and Critical Thinking
  4. Areas of Learning and Development